Our membership consists of educators, hobbyists and ceramic technicians who reside throughout the United States, including Hawaii. We are proud that some of our past presidents were the influential forces within ceramic art of the 20th and 21st centuries and that we continue to be leaders of the current ceramic culture.


Who are our members? Some of our members, such as William Manker, Vivika and Otto Heino, Harrison McIntosh, Susan Peterson, Raul Coronel, Frank Matranga, Tom McMillan, Patrick Shia Crabb, Kevin Myers, John Hopkins and Stephen Horn are nationally and internationally renowned artists and educators. They were and currently are faculty members of California State University at Dominguez Hills, California State University at Fullerton, California State University at Northridge, California State University at Pomona, Chouinard Art Institute, East Los Angeles College, Glendale Community College, Loyola Marymount University, Orange Coast College, Otis College of Art and Design, Pierce College, Riverside Community College, Santa Ana College, Scripps College, University of California at Los Angeles, and University of Southern California.


For more information about how to become a member, click here.






Listed are our presidents and the year(s) they served.
1945-48 William Manker
1948 Helen Zilgitt
1949 LaGardo G. Tackett
1950 Richard Petterson
1951 Helen Hargett
1952 Jane Elllis
1953 Bernard Kester
1954 Jeanne Ward
1955 Al King
1956 Susan Peterson
1957 Chester Jelly
1958 Al Driscoll
1959 Vivika Heino
1960 Lou McLain
1961 Raul Coronel
1962 Harlan Chinn
1963 Dennison Herring
1964 Ward Youry
1965 Earnest Sherrill
1966 Tom McMillin
1967 George Alsop
1968 John Blough
1969 Roland Schutt
1970 Ken Catbagan
1971 Bill Davis
1972 Wilburt Fenner
1973 Bob Jessup
1974 Bob Brent
1975 Joan Hill
1976 Frank Matranga
1978 Committee
1979 Norma Paley
1980 Helen Slater
1981 Wes Stanley
1983 Hanna Ruderman
1984 Jim Grimsley
1985 Tom Fraser
1986 Bernice Haber
1987 Norma Paley
1988 Leon Bush
1989 Rose Mary Flint
1990 Jim Grimsley
1991 Eduardo Lazo
1992 Bill Davis
1993 Committee
1994 David Lazo
1995 Chris Turk
1996 Tony Trotta
1997 Patti Hallowes
1998 Vyktorya Parco
1999 Lynette Yetter
2000 Nina Kellogg
2001 Lester Haworth III
2003 Melody Cooper
2004 Biliana Popova
2005-06 Elizabeth Wamsley
2007-18 Celeste Iida
2018-Present Susan Spohr



Copyright 2019 © American Ceramic Society Southern California